Russia travel blog | All about Russia in English

Archive for October 2017

The State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics named after K. E. Tsiolkovsky in Kaluga (Akademika Koroleva Street, 2) is the world’s first and largest space museum in Russia, created with the direct participation of S.P. Korolev and Yu. A. Gagarin.

The museum has an extensive exposition telling about the history of aeronautics, aviation, rocket and space technology. Photos by: Sergey Rubtsov.

museum with unique exhibits

Tags:  ·

Oct/17

17

Picturesque views of Vyborg

Vyborg is a large town located in the north-west of the Leningrad region on the shore of the Vyborg Gulf, in the north-eastern part of the Gulf of Finland, about 135 km from St. Petersburg.

Founded in the Middle Ages by Swedes, Vyborg is the only historical settlement on the territory of the Leningrad region. Until 1940, it was the second largest town in Finland. Photos by: Andrei Kireev.

Vyborg from the tower of the Vyborg Castle.

explore Vyborg

Tags: 

The Northern Urals is one of the most hard-to-reach areas of the Urals, but it gradually becomes more popular among tourists primarily thanks to two main attractions: the rock formations on the Manpupuner Plateau and the Dyatlov Pass.

Both of these places are covered with legends. Although one of them was created by nature, and the second – by human tragedy that is still an unsolved mystery. Photos by: Slava Stepanov.

fly over the Northern Urals

Tags:  · ·

Nelazskoye is a small village with a population of about 200 people located in the Cherepovets district of the Vologda region, about 30 km north-west of Cherepovets.

The main attraction of the village is the Church of the Assumption of Our Lady – a wooden church of unique shape built in 1694. Nelazskoye on Google Maps. Photos by: Denis Spirin.

beautiful monument of wooden architecture

Tags:  · ·

Nikolo-Ugreshsky Monastery is a monastery of the Russian Orthodox Church located in the town of Dzerzhinsky in the Moscow region, to the southeast of Moscow in the immediate vicinity of the Moscow Ring Road.

The monastery was founded by the Grand Duke Dmitry Donskoy on the site of the phenomenon of the icon of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker in 1380.

explore the monastery

Tags:  ·